designed by danni

Upcycling, creating, sewing and fun.

G’s Sewing!!!

on June 19, 2013

At home today with a case of man flu (I’m sure it’s man flu. I’m probably only a little sick, but it feels ten times worse. All I want is to whine to someone and have people do everything for me. I’m being a bit pathetic- it’s definitely man flu!).

ABC 2 has been my friend and G has been pottering around, watching bits and pieces on tv and playing. I decided to start pinning and sewing together some of the sweet little dresses (‘Piper’ dresses me thinks) that I started cutting out last night.

Next thing I know I have a little helper. To distract him I gave him 14 carefully counted pins and a scrap of fabric.

20130619-151125.jpg
He folded it in half and pinned it so I suggested a bag. He helped with the stitching, lowering the foot, pressing the buttons and started to guide the fabric through (albeit a little enthusiastically!)
I then gave him scissors and ribbon and he cut for long enough for me to finish the inside hems on a dress!!

20130619-151629.jpg
We stitched the ribbon scraps on and then G carefully selected a ribbon for the strap. After tidying up the ribbon bag and moving its contents off the floor and back in, we attached the strap and I quickly stitched some Velcro in to hold the bag shut.

20130619-151958.jpg

20130619-152038.jpg
It now contains 2 dice, a small plastic bead, a tiny little bear and a used bandaid. We’ll work on the last one…


Leave a comment